top of page

April Favourites 2018


April has finally started to feel like spring and I am loving it. Warmer weather, longer days and more time outside is just what I needed after the horrendously cold winter we've had this year, even if this weather only lasted a few days. I've been preparing for the summer months with new clothes and accessories and trying new things and planning things to do in the summer, and I've discovered some realy great things on the way.

Fashion & Beauty

My New studded Black Dress - The first item of summer clothing I've purchased this year was this fab black dress, gold studs all over the top and a high low net skirt(similar to this dress); it reminds me of something that Avril Lavigne would wear, which is part of the reason why I bought it. I found this dress at an indoor vintage and retro market for only £6, it was secondhand but it's in great condition and looks like it was barely worn.

Garnier Skin Active Face Masks - I'm really enjoying trying new face masks at the moment, and I really loved using these Garnier Skin Active face masks, especially the Volcano Face Mask and the Juicy Face Mask. They make my skin feel very refreshed and smooth and definitely gives my face a healthy glow. I'm looking forward to trying more face masks from the Garnier Skin Active range.

My New Quay Australia Sunglasses - These sunglasses are beautiful, I fell in love with them when I was strolling through TKMaxx and at £15 I just had to have them. I love the bluey-green reflected lenses and the cat eye frames, they're just so gorgeous and I've loved wearing them the last couple of weeks (even though there has been limited sun). I'm very excited to wear these beautiful sunglasses all through summer.

Nude Lipsticks - I've been wearing a lot of nude makeup this month, just keeping is neutral for spring I guess. I'm not the biggest fan of nude lipsticks but I've been enjoying wearing it this month with a simple champagney glitter eye and bronzer. My favourite two nude lip products have been MUA Luxe Velvet Lip Laquer in Halcyon which is a peachy nude, which I like because it's not too nude but not too pink either. I also enjoy using the Christian Breton Sensual Colour Vibrant Shine lipstick in Nude, which is really hydrating and looks really natural on my lips.

My New Black Sandals - Another item of summer clothing I've already purchased is a pair of black studded heeled sandals from New Look. They're very comfortable and practical and they go perfectly with all my clothes, them being black like the rest of my wardrobe. I've already worn them a few times with my new dress and I'm loving the black and studs combination, I can already see myself living i this outfit all summer.

Movies, TV & Music

Lost In Japan by Shawn Mendes - Last month I wrote that I was loving Shawn Mendes' first single off his new album 'In my blood', but this month I've been really obsessed with his second track 'Lost In Japan'. It's so damn perfect, I've had this song on repeat all month and I'm still not sick of it. I recommend you go listen to it right now!

Taskmaster - My little sister, Ruby, recently got me into the TV series 'Taskmaster' hosted by Greg Davies and Alex Horne; it's a comedy panel game show, and I'm not usually a fan of these comedy panel shows, but I've been addicted to this all month. It's featured the likes of Noel Fielding, Josh Widdicombe, Rob Beckett, Mel Giedroyc and Bob Mortimer. It seems I've chosen a good time to get addicted to this show because they've just aired the first of 10 episodes of the 6th season on Dave, I know what i'll be doing every Wednesday for the next 10 weeks now.

Food & Drink

Birthday Cake Oreos - These Oreos are the best I've ever tasted! The biscuit part may be the same but the filling is so much more heavenly than a regular Oreo. The filling is my favourite part, caramel flavoured with little rainbow coloured sugary sprinkles, just like a birthday cake. I know it's kind of naughty but I may have eaten the cream filling out of several Oreos and abandoned the biscuit part because the filling just tastes so damn good that that was the only part I wanted.

Peach Cola - Last Summer I fell in love with the Peach flavoured Fanta (which is an American product and not that easy to find in te UK), but since then I haven't been able to get my hands on it that easily, as it's only sold in select sweet shops and for £2 plus for a can. Fortunately Coca Cola have released a Peach Flavoured cola and I'm loving it, it doesn't taste quite as good as the Peach Fanta obviously as it's flavoured coke instead of Fanta, but I'm happy that this cola is so easy to get hold of and the peachy goodness is helping me get through until summer when I can get my hands on more Peach Fanta.

Other

Smash Booking - If you don't know, Smash booking is basically the same as scrap booking, where you gather things like tickets, photographs and other memorabilia and stick tit all into a fancy, hardback book. I bought a Smash book back in 2013 and I was obsessed for a while, then I totally forgot I even had it until a few weeks ago, so when I went back home for Easter i dug it out the drawer so I could start it up again. The idea of scrap booking may sound nerdy to some people, but I love gathering little bits and pieces, especially from events and days out, and putting it all together on paper so I can always go back and look through my memories.

Summer Vibes - I am totally loving the change in weather this month; it's finally hot enough to sit outside with bare legs and bare arms, and i'm getting serious summer vibes. I know it was only hot for about 4 days, but trust me I made the most put of those 4 days, I wore a dress and sandals and my new sunglasses, I ate delicious ice cream and sat on the beach eating fish and chips. This mini heat wave has got me so excited for the summer, I can hardly wait.

I hope you all enjoyed my April Favourites blog post!

India X

bottom of page