top of page

My September Favourites 2019


Well here we are, my first proper blog post of Blogtober, thank you so much for coming. I haven't written a favourites post since the beginning of summer, so I felt I should get one out of the way for Blogtober, filled with all the things I was loving in September. There's beauty, fashion, music, movies and food so scroll down to check out all these amazing things that managed to make the list!

Beauty & Fashion

I Heart Revolution Peaches & Cream Fixing Spray - I Heart Revolution have done it again with their unique beauty products and have released a whole range of scented fixing sprays, including Cucumber, Guava and Rose, Tutti Fruti and my favourite - Peaches and Cream. A fixing spray that smells delicious, keeps your makeup in place and keeps your face hydrated and refreshed for £6, totally worth it. The product itself works well at keeping makeup in place and skin feeling hydrated, I definitely recommend.

Simple Biodegradable Facial Wipes - Simple have released some new, environmentally friendly products, like travel minis made with 62% less plastic packaging and biodegradable facial wipes made from wood pulp and plant fibres. These biodegradable wipes are just like their ordinary facial wipes, but are so much better for the environment, as normal wet wipes contain plastic, which take many years to degrade and are a main cause of blockages in UK sewers; these biodegradable wipes break down in only 42 days. If you're looking for an easy way to make a change to the environment, then I highly recommend switching to these Simple wipes.

Vintage Black Skirt - This summer I went to a Preloved Kilo Sale (if you haven't heard of it then I really do recommend googling it and trying to go to one) at Dreamland, Margate. I sifted through rails of old clothes, some very unique and original, and some old and bizarre pieces, and found a couple of cool items to take home with me. One of them items was a long, floral patterned, black skirt which I have been living in over the last month; it's a perfect autumn wardrobe staple for them not so hot, not too cold autumn days. I've been pairing it with a black top, white converse and denim jacket, but I can't wait to style it with some warmer layers as the weather gets colder.

I Heart Revolution Dragons Heart Eyeshadow Palette - A perfect 12 shade Autumnal eyeshadow palette if there ever was one; golds, peachy reds, burgundy and a splash of violet, all the colours you need for glamorous autumn eyes. Besides a bit of fallout from the palette, the colours are amazingly pigmented and easy to blend, and you can mix and match colours to create endless amounts of cute, dragon inspired looks. I have loved using the palette this month; it's light and easy to travel with, not to mention the fierce red packaging and the reasonable price of £6.99.

Zabby Allen Enamel Pin - Like most people nowadays, I love a good enamel pin, and I'd been eyeing up some cute enamel pins on Zabby Allen's online store, and while she was having a sale I took the opportunity to buy myself an adorable pin before they all sold out. The pin that I chose was a little black jacket pin with gold lettering saying 'got your back' - it's adorable. I love buying from independent sellers like Zabby, especially when they have super cute merchandise.

Entertainment

YUNGBLUD - Over the last few months I've been listening to a lot of music from UK singer YUNGBLUD; he's got quite a unique sound that not all people are gonna like but he's floating my music boat at the moment. The one song I've listened to nearly everyday this month is '21st Century Liability'- punky vibes with some electro dub and an angry youth shouting about being misunderstood. 'Parents' and 'Machine Gun' are also some great songs from his discography; if you want some fierce new music to listen then check out these punked up tunes by YUNGBLUD.

IT - This month saw the release of the new horror movie It: Chapter 2, and while I wasn't the biggest fan of the new installment, I've been pretty obsessed with the whole story of It, rewatching part 1 a few more times, reading some background information online, watching copious amounts of YouTube videos about hidden easter eggs and now borrowing the book off my boyfriend to read. If you wanna hear my thoughts on Chapter 2 then I talk about them in last months blog posts Bored of Blogging & It Chapter 2, click to give it a read.

13 Reason Why Season 3 - I finally got around to watching the new season of 13 Reasons Why and I binge watched it all in about 3 days. Besides the fact that I'd forgotten a lot of what had happened last season and I always forget the characters names and who is mates with who, it was an amazing series. There were lots of moments that left me with my mouth hanging open and I like that it always tackles relevant situations that unfortunately do happen to high school students. Season 4 can't come soon enough, I need my dose of teen drama.

Sheep.io - So my sister had downloaded this app called Sheep.io onto her phone, and if you've heard of Agar.io or Slither.io, it's basically the same thing, but you're a sheep that has to run around and grab other sheep to win. Obviously after I'd had a go on her phone I downloaded the app myself, but I'm not very good at it and I genuinely get upset when another player takes my sheep away from me. My high score is 77 but on average I get about 26 sheep, but I find it entertaining, so who cares if I'm good at catching sheep or not.

Food & Drink

Spicy Chicken McNuggets - Maccies always come up with some great new foods and I always like to give them a try when they're available, like the new spicy chicken nuggets that were put on the menu at the beginning of the August. The nuggets themselves were very mild in spice even with their fiery orange breadcrumb shell, but the spicy tomato dip that accompanies the nuggets was full of spice and flavour. I went back about 4 times to order them again because damn that dip was delicious, but it seems that they've already removed the spicy nuggets from their menu, which really sucks but hopefully they'll be back in the UK again soon.

Other

Being Creative Again - Over the summer I felt so very uncreative, uninspired and lacking imagination, so much so that I didn't want to draw, write or photograph anything, even looking on Instagram and Pinterest made me feel down after seeing everyone else amazing creativity. But after buying myself a sketchbook and some watercolours, and I started to paint some random stuff just to get started, and now I'm painting and drawing everyday. I'm doing little Halloween pictures and I'm m going to take part in DorkFaceBlogs #Doodleween, where you doodle something spooky everyday of October. It feels good to be creative again.

Well there ya go, the first monthly favourites post in a long while and the first proper Blogtober post. Let me know all the things you've been loving this past month in the comments below. Hopefully I'll see you back here again tomorrow for the third day of Blogtober.

India X

bottom of page