top of page

It's my 22nd Birthday!


Today is my 22nd birthday! Oh my god I feel sooo old, I swear I only just turned 21. I remember having an internal freak out when I turned 20 and realised I wasn't a teenager anymore, I felt so old and sad that I wasn't a kid anymore and that life is only going to get more difficult from here. Last year when I turned 21 I didn't freak out at all, and to be honest this year feels exactly the same, because I think now I've realised that life doesn't completely change when you stop being a teenager, and you're only as old as you feel, and I still very much feel like an 18 year old haha.

My birthday celebrations started last night when I went out to have a few drinks with my bestie, which of course was fun, I love spending time with my best friends. She bought me some amazing presents, we had a few shots and we ordered a pizza to finish off the evening. Earlier this afternoon I kept it classy and went out for a proper Victorian afternoon tea with the family at a cafe just down the road called The Mad Hatter; there were cakes and scones and sandwiches, it was lovely. There were 4 different finger sandwiches, huge scones with jam and cream and massive slices of homemade cakes all on a fancy cake stand, as well as a big pot of tea with all the proper Victorian tea set. It was my first time going there and I would 100% go back again for more cakes and sandwiches. But next weekend is what I'm most excited for as I'll be going to Screamland, a local Halloween event that involves rides, mazes and scary costumes, which my bestie bought us both tickets for, and some other friends will be there so I'm super looking forward to having a spooky night out with my friends. My boyfriend and I will have our own little celebration together, we've planned to go to the cinema and then for dinner somewhere nice, but I hope I don't get a surprise birthday cake, I hate when they bring out a cake and sing to you.

This year I got some amazing presents from my friends and family (a post on that coming next week) and a big chocolate cake, which I'll be eating a big piece of after my Chinese takeaway dinner tonight. My mum always buys me and my sister a bunch of flowers on our birthday and she always without a doubt makes a big elaborate birthday card; this year I had one with felt cacti on, which was so sweet. She lays all these things out, along with the presents, on the dining room table and gets everything ready for when we get up in the morning, which you can see in the pictures. I still have a few presents to come from my boyfriend and a couple of other friends, which I will see in the next week.

I don't know about you, but I'm feeling 22! (sorry but I had to). Thank you for coming to read my birthday blog post and also day 20 of Blogtober. I have lots of good posts planned for the week ahead so do make sure to come back and check all of them out. I hope you're all having an amazing Sunday.

India X

bottom of page