top of page

My Cracked Face Halloween Makeup Look

Welcome to day 23 of Blogtober, thank you for clicking on this blog post, I appreciate all of you coming to read my blog posts this month. Today's post, if you haven't already guessed from the title, is going to be about how I created this cracked face makeup look just in time for Halloween. Scroll down to see the 6 steps I took to create this easy but spooky Halloween makeup on my face.

Step 1

Start by applying your normal foundation, concealer and powder and your usual eyebrow routine. I used the Maybelline Fit Me! Matte + Poreless Foundation patted on with a beauty blender, then of course I used the Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer to cover any blemishes and dabbed a little under my eyes and patted it in with my fingers. The powder I'm currently using is the Collection Primed & Ready Invisible Setting Powder, so I brushed some on to set the base before moving onto brows. Use whichever products you would usually use for this process as it won't make any difference to the finished look.

Step 2

I wanted to do a really smokey eye for this look, so I took my MUA Elysium Shadows Palette, which has lots if grey and black shades, perfect for creating a dark smokey eye. Starting with a blending brush, I took some of the light grey shade called Shark Skin and blended it out into my crease and took a little underneath my eye too, then I took a flat eyeshadow brush and packed black colour called Smoke all over my eye lid. Next I dipped the blending brush back into a darker grey colour called Thunder and blended out the harsh black line into the light grey shadow to create a super smokey look; just keep blending until you're happy with how it looks. Up next is eyeliner, I used the Maybelline Line Refine Liner Express to draw on thin liner and a classic cat wing on each eye lid. Lastly for the eyes I glued on some false lashes, you can use whichever ones you have available but the longer and thicker the better; apply a little mascara to your bottom lashes and you're eyes are complete.

Step 3

When you've completely finished with your eye makeup, it's time to move onto contour and highlight. I used the contour shade in the No7 Maple Glow Palette to hollow out my cheeks, contour the nose and define the chin, contour is optional of course but I didn't think the look felt right without it. The highlighter I used was the Revolution Haunted Liquid Highlighter in Lover's Wrath, a gorgeous purple liquid highlighter, I dabbed some onto my cheekbones, brow bones and the tip of my nose and a little onto the inner corners of my eyes.

Step 4

Now onto the main feature, the cracks. Start off by drawing a dot onto your forehead with a black kohl liner, it can be centred or off centre, depending on where you want the impact to have been, because you're creating the affect that something has been thrown or hit against some glass and it's shattered, so there would be a point of impact. From there, draw some shard like shapes to mimic broken glass, keeping the pattern circular and switching up the length and width of each of the individual glass pieces. I then drew some extended lines coming out of the original dot and made the cracks go over my eyes and down to each cheek, where I then drew some more shard like shapes (use the photo for reference because I'm bad at explaining this). You can draw as many shards as you like and make them any size or shape that you want and you can make them cover your whole face or just a small part of your face, that is all up to you. You could draw over the penciled lines with a black liquid liner if you want to darken the lines but that part is totally optional.

Step 5

Now it's time to add some shading to these shards, this makes it appear more 3D and gives it a more realistic look. Take some grey eyeshadow from earlier and start shading a few of the shards; try to pretend there's a light shining from one direction, so the shadows would be cast away from that light, that is where you should be shading the pieces (hope that makes sense to you). I then took my NYX White Liquid Liner and highlighted some of the shards, this time going the opposite sides to the shadows I created.

Step 6

The last steps are lipstick and setting spray. I had to use my beloved NYX Glitter Goals Lipstick in Oil Spill for this look, it's a stunning black liquid lipstick with purple and blue reflective glitter, which I thought would go great with this dark cracked face look. Finish the whole thing off with a few sprays of your favourite setting spray so your spooky makeup stays in place all night without smudging.

And there you have it, a cracked face, perfect for any last minute Halloween parties you might have been invited to. Let me know in the comments what you're planning on dressing up as this year for Halloween, I'd love to know. Come back tomorrow for a Halloween baking blog post.

India X

bottom of page