top of page

Bored Of Blogging & IT Chapter 2


Hello and happy Friday the 13th! It's been a while since I've written a blog post, or even since I've thought about my little blog. Finishing uni left me feeling totally uninspired and I found myself bored of blogging and forcing myself to write posts when I didn't really want to, and I didn't want to feel that way about something that was supposed to be a hobby. Over the summer I started to feel so bored and uninspired and wishing I had some sort of creative outlet, but I had nothing to create, nothing to write or draw or photograph. I started to miss blogging and routinely writing posts and taking photographs for Instagram, but I still felt bored of what I had planned to write, nothing really seemed to interest me enough to write about it. But after a two month break, I decided I needed to start creating again, starting with my blog, however I want to change what I'm writing about, less beauty and more about what interests me, more life update-style posts and less trying to fit into the blogging community. I want to write for myself rather than trying to copy what other popular bloggers are doing.

This year I am going to push myself to do something I've never done before, I will be (attempting) to do Blogtober. If you don't know what that is, Blogtober is when you post a different blog post everyday of October and I'm excited to be taking part, and I hope it helps me get back into the writing groove. October is my favourite month of the year and usually a busy month with Halloween and my birthday and this year I have my graduation too, so while I might struggle to get things written and posted in time, I should have plenty to blog about. Watch this space for (hopefully) a new blog post each day of October, you can subscribe by email to get updated whenever I upload a new blog post or you can follow my Instagram @IndiaRosePowell to stay updated.

Moving on from blogging, last week I went to the double feature of It at the cinema. I'm not the biggest fan of horror movies but Chapter One was an amazing movie - comedy, creepiness and jump scares, the actors were all amazing and it left me feeling excited for Chapter Two. I hadn't rewatched the first movie until I was back in the same cinema screen and I was looking forward to watching it again and getting reacquainted with the story and characters again. I loved the entire concept of the first movie, the idea of a group of children clubbing together to defeat some sort of paranormal/extraterrestrial being really appeals to me - much like Harry Potter for example. What didn't help was there was a single red balloon tied to the seat next to me, which put me on edge a little throughout both movies, but thankfully it was just a red balloon, no clowns attached.

*Minor spoilers ahead*

I have yet to read the book by Stephen King so I wasn't sure what was gong to happen in Chapter 2 so I went into the cinema with no clue what was gong to happen to the loser club or to Pennywise. Movie one was just as brilliant as I remember and I couldn't wait for Chapter 2, which was played after a 15 minute break. After watching the film, however, I did feel a little disappointed with the lack of creepy bits, jump scares and excitement that made the first movie so terrifyingly thrilling. I felt that the comedy that worked well with the children didn't work well with a group of 40 year olds - it was childish banter, and the connection between the adult characters didn't compare to the children, I missed that. There was perhaps three major scary moments in the movie, but the entire second half of the film was lacking thrill and jump scares, and I felt it was very soppy and dull towards the end. It felt like a lot of the attention was taken away from Pennywise and focused on the Ritual of Chüd, the love triangle between Beverly, Bill and Ben and the old school bully, Henry. Disappointed though I was, it was still worth watching and I'm thinking of reading the book to get a better understanding of the story and the characters.

If you've seen It Chapter Two, let me know your thoughts in the comments, I'd love to know what you thought of it. Watch this space for more upcoming blog posts and remember to check out my Blogtober posts next month!

India X

bottom of page