top of page

My Favourite Fictional Characters


A while ago I was thinking about who my favourite fictional character was, and I'm a very indecisive person sometimes so I really find it hard choosing things like that, especially when there are so many incredible characters. I wanted to conduct a little experiment to help me choose who my top 5 favourite fictional characters were because it was too hard for me to decide myself, and I wanted to do this using a tournament bracket generator (if you're unsure what that is, just google it and i'm sure you'll be familiar with what I'm on about. I wanted to start with 20 fictional characters that I like and narrow it down to just five final characters, and then maybe I'll decide out of the final five which one is my ultimate favourite. Keep on reading to see who could potentially be a finalist and how my tournament chart experiment turned out.

The 20 contenders are:

Draco Malfoy from the Harry Potter franchise

Jim Moriarty from Sherlock

River Song from Doctor Who

Rae Earl from My Mad Fat Diary

Alice from Alice in Wonderland

Aurora from Sleeping Beauty

Jim Hawkins from Treasure Planet

Hiccup from How To Train Your Dragon

Baymax from Big Hero 6

Emily from Tim Burtons Corpse Bride

Charlie from The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Georgia Nicholson from Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging Jay Gatsby from The Great Gatsby

Jack Dawson from Titanic

Sweeney Todd From Tim Burtons Sweeney Todd

Tyrion Lannister from Game of Thrones

Jennifer Check from Jennifers Body

Veronica Sawyer from Heathers

Chandler Bing from Friends

Patsy Stone from Absolutely Fabulous

Using a sort of tournament chart, I wrote down the 20 characters names on the left hand side of the page: I tried to pair together characters that were similar, for example, Alice from Alice in Wonderland and Aurora from Sleeping Beauty, who are both female Disney characters, and then Draco Malfoy and Jim Moriarty who are both villains. With these 20 characters I had 10 pairs and I had to chose one character that I liked the most from each pair, until I end up with only 10 characters. I had to say goodbye to some characters here, like Rae Earl from My Mad Fat Diary and Tyrion Lannister from Game of Thrones, as they had been knocked out of the list.

The 10 remaining characters I have left are Jim Hawkins, Alice, Draco Malfoy, Baymax, Veronica Sawyer, River Song, Sweeney Todd, Jack Dawson, Charlie and Chandler Bing. I now have to do the same as before where I have to pick between the 10 remainders; I just did this in the order they were in, I didn't pair them up together like I had with the first category. I now had to say goodbye to Jack Dawson from Titanic and Baymax from Big Hero 6, and w=the characters that I had left were the final 5 characters that I have to declare as my favourites.

And it seems the 5 finalists are Draco Malfoy, Sweeney Todd, River Song, Jim Hawkins and Charlie from The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I'm pretty happy with saying that these are definitely a few of my favourite fictional characters, even though this isn;t a very effective way to make a decision, but oh well it was kinda fun to try this out. I would love to know your opinion on this strange post, leave a comment below with what you thought about this post and maybe I'll do something similar soon! What are your favourite fictional characters?

India X

bottom of page