top of page

Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom Review *Spoilers*


So last Saturday I went to see Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom in 3D and I'm still not quite sure how I feel about it, it was a roller-coaster of a movie which made me feel all sorts of emotions: sadness happiness, anger and confusion. I found it extremely dark and intense compared to the other installments, which is likely to do with the movie being directed by Spanish horror film director, J. A. Bayona; this film went places that none of the other Jurassic Park films have gone. With men murdering other men, kidnapping and even human cloning, this film felt miles away from the previous four family friendly and heart warming dinosaur films in the franchise, and for the first time ever I find myself feeling sorry for the dinosaurs. Only about 20% of the film took place on the island, Isla Nublar, with the majority taking place in a huge gothic mansion, which I wasn't too fond of as it just made the whole story feel very distant from the previous four, but I understood why they decided to go with a change of setting. It definitely had the classic moments from a Jurassic Park film, such as a T-rex chase, Velociraptors and an annoying child character (although I found her to be the least annoying of all the children to star in these movies). There was also the classic bad guys who wanted their share of the dinosaur fortune, and speaking of the bad guy, these villains were the worst of all! It was a sad affair watching them auction off the poor dinos to evil and greedy billionaires... apart from the Indoraptor, he was an asshole.

The glorious Chris Pratt was yum as usual, and was part of the reason why I loved watching the movie ;) but there were parts that I just hated watching, like when the innocent dinos, like the Brachiosaurus', were running away from the lava spilling from the erupting volcano, and sadly when the lava caught up to the fleeing dinos and they either burnt to death or drowned in the ocean trying to get away from it (I don't think I'm ever going to get over how sad that scene was). Near the beginning of the film I was thinking to myself 'why would anyone want to save the dinosaurs after everything that has happened in the previous four films', but after seeing that heartbreaking scene, I totally understand why Claire was trying to rescue all the dinosaurs remaining on Isla Nublar. This movie really tried to focus on things that it hadn't really had the chance to before, like the right of the dinosaur, the correction of their mistake to create dinosaurs and the fact that human cloning has been capable this whole time.

I'm still not sure whether I love it or hate it, I mean it was a brilliantly smart and creative movie, but on the other hand I kind of want to pretend like I never watched it and that everything is still fine and all the dinosaurs are just having the time of their lives back on Isla Nublar. I am kind of hoping that this is the end of the Jurassic Park movies, as I can't see how they can carry on the story now that the island, theme park and the majority of the dinos are gone, but you never know, they do tend to milk a good film franchise as much as they can. I have mixed feelings about the end of the movie, and I've known all along that there are only two ways this franchise can end; with all the dinosaurs dead and destroyed or everyone will have to live in peace with them, and clearly they went for the latter. I'm just not sure whether this was the right ending for such an well-loved franchise, but I guess I'm just going to have to deal with humans and dinosaurs coexisting, whether I think it's the right way to end it or not. Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom was not my favourite from this franchise, I must admit: I think the original Jurassic Park movie will always remain my favourite, with Jurassic World being a close second. Overall, this was an epic installation to the beloved Jurassic Park franchise, and I'm not sure how or where they'll go with the apparently already confirmed third Jurassic World movie. Welcome to Jurassic World.

India X

bottom of page