top of page

June Favourites 2018


June is finally here; my first month off for summer, although the last 6 months have gone incredibly quick, I hope the next few months slow down, I am not ready to start thinking about my December favourites already. Had such a good month with my friends and family, chilling in the sun and having a laugh, and I've needed some essentials to help me through this month...

Beauty & Fashion

Essence Matte Matte Matte Vibrant Shock Lipstick in No To Mainstream - I have been looking for a green (and a reasonably priced) lipstick for quite some time now, and I have finally found this greeny-teal lipstick from Essence. So this colour is probably a little too out there for some of you, but I loooove my blue MAC lipstick so much and green is pretty much the only colour I didn't already have, so I needed this super cool lipstick to add to my lippy collection, and just in time for summer too.

PS. Foaming Face Wash Rose & Vitamin E - I love any skincare product that contains vitamin E, just because I feel like it's very healthy for my skin and I love using products with skin loving ingredients. This foaming wash is really gentle and cleansing, which is why I've been using it so much lately, as I've been going through some tough skin days, but this has been sort of a saviour. I recommend this cheap and cheerful Primark face wash if you're looking for something affordable but gentle on your skin, it really does the job.

The Body Shop Vanilla Pumpkin Body Butter - I know I am month too late to be raving about this but I have only recently managed to try this out, and OMG this stuff smells like heaven in a pot. The classic The Body Shop formula is rich, leaving your skin moisturised and soft and smelling just incredible; who doesn't want to smell like Madagascan vanilla and sweet pumpkin. I know this may not be the most fitting scent for summer but why should we limit the use to just autumn when it smells this damn delicious.

Simple Kind To Skin De-Stress Sheet Mask - This was a purchase I made when I was a little tipsy in ASDA one day, and I ended up using the next night and my skin felt super fresh afterwards. This mask has no artificial perfume or harsh ingredients so it's kind to your delicate skin and doesn't aggravate or damage your face, even if you have sensitive skin. The only downside I have is that sheet masks are ridiculously shaped; whose face is actually that large though?!

Red Shirred Sundress from New Look - I have been living in this gorgeous red sundress all month; it's comfortable and cute and just perfect for hot summers days where you're too hot and sweaty to bother. I've mostly been pairing it with my white converse, denim jacket and my heart-shaped sunglasses and it's a perfect summer outfit, very festival friendly too. I don't usually go for red, and it is a little brighter than the rest of my wardrobe, but I love having a splash of colour to wear in the summer.

Entertainment

Flowers Season 2 - Flowers is a black comedy broadcasted on channel 4 in the UK, starring Juliann Barrat and Olivia Coleman, and season 2 finally aired after 2 years and it was full of emotions. Season 2 followedone of the main characters Amy, and her mental journey before she discovers she has bipolar. It's a dark story with some comical moments, but it season 2 seemed to finish abruptly without explaining everything and left some loose ends, which is worse when it's been announced they don't think there'll be another season. Nonetheless, I've loved watching Flowers this month and it's made me feel all the emotions, and I love when a TV series can do that to me.

New Music From All Time Low - My favourite band are back at it again! S0 far this month All Time Low have released two new tracks called Everything Is Fine and Birthday, and they are both just amazing tunes, perfect summer bops. These are the best two new tracks I think I've heard all year to be honest, and now I'm all excited to hear the rest of the new tracks that ATL will be releasing this year. There are some obvious old school ATL vibes going on in these two tracks, which I love, but they still sound so new. Give 'em a listen if you want a couple of great new tracks to add to your summer playlists.

Food & Drink

Candy Kittens Peach Fizz - You may know that I love the Candy Kittens sweets, but I hadn't tried the Peach Fizz flavoured ones, so of course I had to try them when I saw them in Morrisons. I think that these peach ones are the best one's I've tried (I am obsessed with peach flavoured things), and I may have purchased a few more bags of them after the first one. Vegan, gluten free, natural flavours AND peach flavoured, what else could you want from a bag of gourmet sweets.

Other

Rock Hunting - My local area, Thanet, has started a 'Rock Hunting' page on Facebook, where you decorate rocks and hide them around Thanet, and when you find one you post a picture on the Facebook group and re-hide it for someone else to find. It may sound childish but it is actually great fun! I've found a few rocks already and I've even decorated a couple and hidden them for the locals to find. I think this is a fun little activity to do during the summer, especialy for families; I love that our local residents have found a way of bonding over something as simple as hiding and finding painted rocks!

I hope you all liked my June favourites post, if you did you can subscribe by email so you get updated whenever I post something new on my blog. Just look to the column on the right hand side to find the subscribe button!

India X

bottom of page