top of page

August Favourites 2018

It's nearly the end of summer now, the weather has gotten cooler and all of those 'we have to do something this summer' promises have been long forgotten. I feel like this month has been the start of my preparation for autumn, as it's been colder and everyone has been thinking about back to school and whatnot. I'm kind of excited for the next couple of month, but first here are some things that I have been loving this month.

Beauty & Fashion

Yellow Tartan Skirt - Tartan is coming back for the autumn and I jumped straight on the trend and bought myself a yellow tartan mini skirt from Primark, which I absolutely love. I never wear yellow but I fell in love with this skirt when I first saw it and I thought I should just go for it and be a little more daring with my fashion choices, and to be honest I have loved looking through my wardrobe and finding ways to style this punky mini skirt for autumn. I can see I'm going to get a lot of wear out if this Primark skirt over the next few months and I can't wait for it to hit September so I can start wearing this skirt.

Collection Primed & Ready Invisible Setting Powder - I recently bought this Collection Invisible Setting Powder and I am loving it. It perfectly mattifies my face, especially when I'm having an oily day, and helps set my base for the day ahead. This setting powder also contains witch hazel, which helps clear any spots and blemishes on your face and helps keep new spots from forming, wand I love the fact that this product does that.

Cactus Bag - My mum bought me this adorable little cross-body cactus bag from the girls section at Next (similar) to give to me on my little sisters birthday and I was so excited when I finally got it a couple of weeks ago. This metallic green bag is so small, with metallic pink flowers dotted about and a long thing strap that is the same light metallic green as the rest of the bag. Although this bag was made for a child and I can't even fit my phone in because it's that small, I am in love with it and am happy to have a new item to add to my growing collection of cactus products.

I Heart Revolution Metallic Mermaid Lip Gloss in Siren - I literally fell in love with this gloss the second I saw it on the I Heart Revolution stand in Superdrug. I'm a total sucker for a crazy coloured lipstick and I've been looking for a green lippy for forever, and this I Heart Revolution products is just what I have been looking for. It's a dark green/teal colour with a metallic finish, it stays put quite well and it smells delicious; I'll most likely be going back to purchase some more lip products from the Dragon, Unicorn and Mermaid range.

Nude By Nature Natural Glow Bronzer - I usually overdose on bronzer during the summer and when my face is more tanned, using a glowy bronzer really makes my face look super sun kissed and healthy. This loose mineral bronzer is extremely pigmented and light and contains light-reflecting micro particles that leaves you skin absolutely glowing. It's a really easy product to blend whilst having a barely-there feel when you're wearing it, just perfect for wearing on hot summers day, which is why i've been loving it this month.

Avril Lavigne Forbidden Rose Perfume - It's not often that I wear my Forbidden Rose fragrance by Avril Lavigne, but this month I have rediscovered this old favourite perfume of mine and I've been wearing it so throughout August. This fragrance has fruity and floral notes, sweet and fresh like an apple, and is quite a light and subtle scent, which is great for a spritz during the day.

Entertainment

Orange Is The New Black - I finally watched season 6 of Orange Is the New Black and OMG it was such a good series! I had forgotten some of what had happened in season 5 so at first I was trying to remember the events that had taken place previously, but after a couple of episodes and a little bit of googling, I was totally hooked and up to date on the girls at Litchfield Penitentiary.

Safe - Another Netflix series I have been obsessed with this month is Safe, starring Amanda Abbington and Michael C. Hall; I love murder and detective series and I got a lot of Sherlock vibes off of this show. I watched all 8 episodes in the space of about 24 hours, I was so hooked on this series and I hate not knowing things like who the murderer is etc. so I binged on this so quickly.

All Time Lows 'Birthday' Music Video - My boys have done it again! All Time Low have released a reeeeeally cool and colourful music video for their song 'Birthday', which is a total bop and such a summer tune. The video is different to what they usually do; with lots of pastels it doesn't look like a video for a rock song, but since the song is about birthday cake it makes perfect sense. Patrick Tracey did a great job at directing, and Alex and Jacks blonde hair is so hawt!

Food & Drink

Cadbury Crunchie Ice Cream - I'm not the biggest lover of ice cream and don't usually eat any unless it's a McFlurry or bubblegum flavoured, but I love the taste of the Cadbury Crunchie ice cream that my mum bought a few weeks ago. I love the Cadbury Crunchie Blast ice lollies that have popping candy in, and although the ice cream didn't have any popping candy pieces, it had chunks of honeycomb instead and the sweet ice cream flavour was just so yummy.

Other

Halloween Prep - I've been starting to think about Halloween this month, what i'm going to be doing, where will I be celebrating and what my costume will be. I always use Pinterest to help me think of amazing Halloween ideas, like makeup and costume ideas as well as D.I.Y decorations and creepy Halloween bakes. I've already chosen my costume, which I'll probably be revealing to you all closer to Halloween. Click here to check out my Halloween and Autumnal board on Pinterest if you want some ideas and inspiration.

Zero Plush Toy - I am a huge fan of Tim Burton and The Nightmare Before Christmas and Halloween in general so when I found this adorable Zero plush toy at a pop-up Disney store in Canterbury, I just had to buy it. Although I am 20 years old and this soft toy was £10 (way more than I usually care to spend on a plush toy) I couldn't leave this Zero toy behind; his little pumpkin nose even lights up! I am not even ashamed to say that this has been the best purchase I have made all month and I just love this little dog.

So there you go, this is everything I've loved throughout August, I hope you all liked it.

India X

bottom of page