top of page

5 Halloween Makeup Ideas


Spooky season is here and I thought I'd share with you a few easy but effective Halloween makeup looks for if you're stuck on what to be this Halloween. I am by no means a makeup artist and there are people that would be able to create these looks way better than I have, but I wanted to prove that you don't have to be amazing at makeup to be able to create these looks. Keep on scrolling to see my five Halloween creations, and I've linked each look back to my original inspiration so don't forget to check them out too.

SPIDERS WEB

This look was inspired by this picture that I found on Pinterest. I started this look off with my normal concealer, foundation and setting powder base and I also did my eyebrows as usual too. When it came to the eyes I mostly used a dark purple or almost black colour on the outer edge of my eye as well as blended upwards from the crease, and then I used a gold shadow on my eye lid all the way up to the crease, with a shimmery white eyeshadow just in my inner corner. For the under eye I also used a dark purple shade, and I used a fluffy brush to blend the shadow out so there were no harsh lines anywhere. I used a liquid liner for the top eyeliner, making sure the flick is nice and long, and I used a black kohl pencil to line my water line and connect the eyeliner at the inner corner. When the eyeshadow and eyeliner is all completed, I take the black kohl pencil and start drawing the spiders web design from my right eye; when I have finished drawing it on and it looks how I want it, i took an eyeshadow brush with the purple shadow on and dabbed it underneath the lines of the spiders web to create a shadow so the web looks more 3D. After that I take my liquid eyeliner and go back over the black lines and make sure everything is neat and even. To finish off the eyes I used a volumising mascara so my lashes were long and black like spiders legs. I used a tad of contour on my cheeks and nose, then grabbed my new favourite highlighter, the Revolution Haunted Liquid Highlighter in Lovers Wrath and dabbed it on my non spiders web cheek, the end f my nose and brow bones, as well as using it to highlight some areas within the spiders web design. Lastly I grab a dark purple liquid lipstick and apply it evenly to my lips; when this was dry I used the Revolution highlighter one last time to the centre of my lips for s shimmery finish. Spritz with a little setting spray and this Spooky Spiders Web look is complete.

MERMAID

I think this is my favourite Halloween look from this post, I was so impressed with myself after I completed it. I was inspired to do this yet again by images that I saw on Pinterest, I have some saved to my Halloween board, click here to check it out. Again I started off with my regular foundation, concealer and eyebrows, before grabbing a pair of fishnet tights from my drawer and shoving them over my head. I gathered all of the teal eye shadows I had and used a medium sized brush to carefully dab the mixture of teals onto my face through the fishnets, to create that scaled effect on my forehead and down to my cheekbones. I used a darker shade of teal in some places to give the scales some colour variation so it didn't look too plain and boring. I then applied the same teal eye shadows to my eyelids and tried to seamlessly blend it out so it blended into the scales around my eyes and cheeks, and also bringing the teal down each side of my nose. Next I applied my regular cat-winged eyeliner and lined my bottom lash line with a black kohl pencil; I then made a last minute and totally optional decision to use a glittery teal liquid eyeliner above the black line just for some extra mermaid sparkle. Mascara was next and I just applied a normal coat of a volumising mascara so my lashes were long and dark. I used my new favourite lip product to complete this watery look, the I Heart Revolution Metallic Mermaid Lipstick in Siren; it goes amazingly well this this makeup and definitely finishes the look.

GALAXY

This galaxy makeup look was inspired by a Halloween Makeup video that Velvet Gh0st posted on Youtube last year, click here to check it out and see her original look. I started this look off with my usual base; concealer, foundation and setting powder, before moving onto the galaxy inspired eyes and cheeks. For this part of the out of this world look, I used a light or pastel pink, purple and blue eye shadows from various palettes, and I used a fluffy brush to apply these three colours all around my eyes, nose and cheeks, making sure there were no gaps in the colours (obviously I went for shimmery shades instead of mattes). For the white stars I used my NYX Professional White Liquid Eyeliner and painted on a variety of different start all over the coloured part of my face; this part was quite hard to don't worry if the starts are perfect or not. I then finished off my eyes with usual black eyeliner and mascara, before grabbing an angled brush and a dark purple shadow to fill n my eyebrows for a little more extraterrestrial vibes. Lastly is lips, and I used a Top Shop lipstick in a pastel purple shade, and of course finished it off with a couple more white stars on my bottom lip. Voila! The look is complete.

VAMPIRE

This vampy look was not actually inspired by anyone or anything but just my love for vampires. I started with my palest shade of foundation, because as you know vampires are always pale because they're undead; I applied the foundation all over my face using a beauty blender and then concealed any spots or blemishes I had with my Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer as vampires usually have porcelain perfect skin, and then finished my base with some setting powder. I used a slightly darker eyebrow pencil than I usually use because I didn't want my eyebrows to get lost as there's a lot of black smokey eyeshadow in this look, I shaped and filled them as normal making sure they're totally precise. Next is the eyes, and I start by packing lots of black eyeshadow onto my lids and blended it all the way up to my brow bone, as well as applying it thickly to my lower lash line. When my eyes are dark and smokey enough I grab another eyeshadow brush and dab some red eyeshadow all around the black shadow, dragging some shadow down onto my cheeks as if it were dripping blood, then I use a normal black pencil liner to line my top and bottom lids as close to the lash line as possible before grabbing my mascara and applying it thickly to both sets of lashes. Last up is my lips which I line with a red lip liner and then fill in with a dark red liquid lipstick; if you want your vampire look to be a little more graphic then get yourself some fake blood and drip it down from your bottom lip as if you've just drained a whole human being of their blood. Now pop in some fangs and then you are ready to go!

CHESHIRE CAT

This Cheshire Cat look was inspired by a couple of pictures that I found on Pinterest, click here if you want to check it out.. I used my normal foundation and concealer for this look but it would work fine without any base as most of your skin will get covered anyway. I started this Alice in Wonderland themed look by using a black kohl eyeliner pencil to draw out the Cheshire Cats mouth and nose, before grabbing my two NYX liquid eyeliners in white and vivid violet and started the quirky stripey eyeliner. I did the eyeliner by painting on a thick and bold white eyeliner with a flick before using the violet eyeliner to paint stripes on, for a Tim Burton-esque vibe; I also took the white liner into the inner corners and slightly under my eye to create a cartoon look. Next I moved onto the mouth, where I used a white face paint on a flat brush to fill in all the teeth in the mouth, before using a black eyeliner to neaten everything up and draw lines in between each of the teeth. Moving onto my beloved Makeup Revolution Midnight Unicorn Palette, I used the shades Darkness (a bright pink) and Immortal (a bright purple) on a fluffy brush all around the eyes and the mouth area, blending the two colours into each other so there were no harsh lines of colour. I carried on with the fluffy brush, blending the pink and purple out from the mouth and up onto the cheekbones, before connecting it with the eyeshadow, and dabbing some onto my hairline, so I have essentially contoured my face with pink and purple eyeshadow; don;t forget to drag the shadow down onto the sides of your nose too. When it is all done and blended, I moved onto the little details in the look; I used a flat brush and the pink eyeshadow to fill in the nose, a dark purple eyeshadow and angled brush to do my brows, and my black kohl pencil to draw on the whiskers and dots above the mouth. At this point in the look I started to hate what I had done, and tried to revive it by using some pink and purple highlighter to add some dimension to the face, highlight some areas and dab some onto the empty parts of my face. That is basically all I did, but there are tons of pictures on Pinterest so you can create this Cheshire Cat look by using any of those pictures as inspiration.

There you are, my five awesome and easy makeup looks to wear this Halloween. Which one did you like best? I hope you all really enjoyed this post, leave me a comment below if you would wear any of these looks for spooky season.

India X

bottom of page