top of page

Best Purchases of 2018


It's nearing the end of the year now, 2018 is nearly over and soon we'll be celebrating the start of a new year and new opportunities and beginnings. I have, instead on reflecting over how the last year has treated me, decided to reflect on what some of the best purchases of the year have been for me. From makeup and skincare to secondhand DVDs, I have listed down below some of my favourite thing's that I have bought in 2018; these are all things that I still love and use as much as when I purchased them or things I'm just really glad I bought this year. (I've avoided writing about things that I received as gifts; I may write a list of the best gifts I received this year, let me know what you think of this in the comments.)

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream - After discovering the NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in the ASOS advent calendar last December, I have since gone and bought myself a couple more because I loved the first one that much. The formula of this lip cream is very soft, smooth and it smells so delicious; it definitely doesn't dry your lips out like some matte liquid lipsticks and the colour is very pigmented and lasts quite a long time without smudging. I'm so glad I bought these awesome little lip creams, I'm sure I'll be buying some more of these next year.

Quay Australia Sunglasses - I got these beautiful Quay Australia sunglasses back in April and they're still my most worn pair of sunglasses of the year, even now when we are having limited sun I'm still wearing them. At only £15 in TKMaxx, these blue lens, cat eye sunglasses were a total bargain and they are just so beautiful.

Disney's Plush Zero Toy - Being a huge fan of Tim Burtons' The Nightmare Before Christmas so when I saw this adorable plush Zero toy at a pop-up Disney store I just had to buy it. Although it may seem like a childish purchase, I absolutely love this cute, light up Zero toy.

Lush Cup O' Coffee Face Mask - This pot of face mask from Lush has done amazing things for my skin this year after having some quite bad skin this spring. This Cup O' Coffee mask smells just like your morning cup of coffee, and the coffee grounds helps exfoliate away dead skin cells while the cocoa extract energises and wakes up my skin. I would highly recommend this yummy face mask.

Yellow Tartan Skirt - This autumn saw a return of the tartan so I had to go and buy something trendy and tartan. Primark was selling a cute yellow tartan mini skirt for £8 so obviously I bought it; I never wear yellow so I'm surprised how much I actually like this skirt and I get big Clueless vibes when I'm wearing it.

Scooby Doo 2: Monsters Unleashed DVD - I only recently purchased this secondhand DVD but I am so happy that I found it, as this movie is incredible and was one of my favourites from when I was younger. I kind of want to go and buy a bunch more movies that I loved as a kid and have a full day of binge watching them.

Denim Jacket - I finally purchased a denim jacket from Primark earlier this year after needing one for a couple of years now and I wore it throughout the whole of spring and summer this year. Denim jackets are just a must have for your wardrobe, they're versatile and can be worn from spring all the way through to late autumn.

I Heart Revolution Metallic Mermaid Lipstick in Siren - This dark teal metallic liquid lipstick is one of the best lip products I have ever owned. I love a kooky lip colour and this I Heart Revolution mermaid lipstick is very kooky; the formula is smooth and silky, very pigmented and overall absolutely stunning on your lips.

Sass & Belle Cactus Tweezers - I got these super adorable happy cactus tweezers from Sass & Belle in Brighton and omg they are just too cute. I love a novelty gift and you know all know how much I love a cactus so this was a purchase I didn't even need to think about, I just walked right up to the till and payed for the. Sass and Belle have loads of adorable tweezers, like cats, unicorns and llamas but the cactus ones were by far the best.

Studded Black Dress - I found this black studded high low dress (similar to this) in a vintage market shop for around £6 and in great condition so I just had to have it. I wore it a lot this summer with some black studded sandals and my Quay Australia sunglasses, but sadly it's a little too cold to wear it out now, so bring on next summer so I can wear it again.

Revolution Haunted Liquid Highlighter in Lover's Wrath - I mostly bought this gorgeous liquid highlighter because it was shaped like a skull, but fortunately the highlighter itself is absolutely stunning. It's a gorgeous opalescent liquid highlighter, that in the light reflects a beautiful purpley pink that looks killer when it's on your cheekbones and brow bones.

H&M Stripey T-Shirt - I remember going into H&M wanting to buy a black and white stripey jumper to keep me warm during the colder months earlier this year, but instead I left with a simple black and white striped T-shirt. I love having something simple like this in my wardrobe to break up all the black that I wear all the time. Maybe I'll get that stripey jumper next year.

Skull Hip Flask - Tiger had some really cool Halloween stuff this year, including a skull shaped, glass hip flask for only £2, so of course I needed that in my life. I actually have yet to use it, but I have it displayed with all my other drinking utensils and mini alcohol bottles, but maybe by the end of the year I'll get to use this awesome skull hip flask. One of my favourite purchases of the year.

Collection Lasting Perfection Ultimate Wear Foundation - I bought this Collection foundation in February because I was in need of a dewy foundation as apposed to the heap of matte foundations I owned. It's a great dewy foundation with great medium, buildable coverage and there's a good selection of shades so you're likely to find a shade to suit you. I'm glad I bought this and didn't spend the whole year wearing a matte foundation' a dewy complexion is so much more natural.

Well there you go, a list of some of the best items I have bought this year. What's the best thing you've purchased this year? Leave me a comment down below.

India X

bottom of page