top of page

December Favourites 2018


It's now the start of a new year and a fresh start and time to reflect on the last 12 months, but for now I'm just going to reflect on the last months and what I was loving throughout December. Obviously it's been a fun and festive month with lots of friends and celebrating and gift giving and I'm a little sad that it's over now but I'm happy to be starting the new year on a high.

Beauty & Fashion

Collection Glam Crystal Holographic Lip Topper - I had seen this holographic lip topper on Instagram and thought it looked really interesting and it was definitely a good time of year for sparkly glossy lips; I had a hard time choosing which one to buy but went for the one named 'SHHHH', which is a purpley-blue holographic glitter. It's a little sticky like most lip glosses but it's apart from that I really like this product for adding a little glam and sparkle to our lips.

Bath Products - So I received so many bath products for Christmas, bath bombs and fizzers, bubble bars, shower gels, soap, face masks, the whole lot, which means I've been having a load of baths so I can try out all the new products I've been gifted. Some o the best things I've tried to far are the Skinny Dip Just Peachy Raise The Bar Bath Fizzer, the Lush Candy Cane Bubble Bar and The Body Shop Peppermint Candy Cane Shower Gel, all of which smell absolutely amazing.

Van Gogh Starry Night Socks - I had seen these Vincent Van Gogh socks with Starry Night on them all over the internet and have wanted a pair for ages, so I finally caved and purchased a pair, even thought I have way too many pairs of socks. I've shown them off a lot because I think they're so cool and I haven't actually seen any other people with them apart from a few people on Instagram. This is the first piece of underwear to make it onto a monthly favourite, but you gotta admit they're pretty great socks.

Skinny Dip Just Peachy Spritz Me Baby Body Mist - This was one of my favourite gifts I received this Christmas, a peach scented body mist from Skinny Dip. I love anything peach, whether it's sweets, drinks or products, and this body mist smells just like a peach; it's fruity and sweet and refreshing. While it is more of a summer scent I have still been wearing it since I got it because who doesn't want to smell like a peachy goddess (clearly I do). I also really want to try some of the other peachy products that Skinny Dip has, like the Just Peachy Glowing Out Shimmer Body Mist.

ASOS Face + Beauty Advent Calendar - For he second year now I have had the ASOS advent calendar, containing 24 beauty goodies. This years calendar had a lot more makeup products than last year, like the Benefit Hoola Lite Bronzer, the Bobbi Brown Smokey Eye Mascara and an Iconic London Illuminator. One of the best thing from this years advent calendar was probably the Holika Holika Aloe 99% Soothing Gel, which can be used in so many different ways for lots of different purposes.

Entertainment

The Good Place - I started watching The Good Place, starring Kristen Bell and Ted Danson, on Netflix just before Christmas; at first I thought it was a bit of a strange concept for a TV show but I quickly became intrigued and carried on watching. I finished all 3 seasons in about a week and by the end I was quite addicted, so much so that I have already started watching it again and I'm craving the next series. If you haven't heard of it, this show follows Eleanor, who wakes up in 'the good place' after dying on earth, but she realises that she isn't supposed to be there; I'd say after about episode 4 I was quite hooked.

Food & Drink

Cheese Advent Calendar - As someone who loves cheese, you can guess ow excited I was when my dad bought be this Ilchester Cheese Advent Calendar from ASDA. I remember trying to get hold of one last Christmas but they always seemed to be sold out, but luckily I got one this year. While I wasn't a big fan of all the cheese, I still loved opening up the doors everyday and reading the terrible cheese related jokes and eating a chunk of cheese for breakfast. I was a bit sad after Christmas when I no longer had something to open and eat every morning, but I can't wait to try and get one again next year.

Candy Canes & Hot Chocolate - Christmas is the perfect time to eat candy canes and drink hot chocolate, and I love combining the two to create a yummy mega minty hot chocolate. I previously mentioned that I love the Options Belgian Mint Hot Chocolate, but it's even better with marshmallows, a mountain of whipped cream and a candy cane stuck in it. Alternatively I have just been drinking normal hot chocolate with a splash of Baileys, but however way I drink it, it makes me feel really festive and ready for Christmas.

Other

Reusable Metal Straws - I ordered some stainless steel reusable straws from Wish at the end of November so that I wouldn't have to use any paper straws when I was out having any Christmas drinks, which I hate because they always get mushy ad start disintegrating in your drink. Reusable metals straws seems like the best idea; they're not harming the environment like plastic straws, they're more practical that paper and it means there are less trees being cut on to make them, so once you've got a metal straw, it should last you a long time. I have two black straws, which came with a little brush to make sure they stay clean and sanitary.

Painting Baubles - Before Christmas my sister bought some plain baubles and started painting them with acrylic paint to give to her friends as Christmas presents. I thought that it was a good idea so started painting a few myself, including an Arctic Monkeys one, a Christmasy All Time Low one and a TARDIS one for my dad. This is a really cute idea for a Christmas gift if you want to give something personalised and there is an infinite amount of things you could paint or decorate a bauble with. I'll most likely be trying this again next Christmas with even more ideas.

So there's all the things I've loved for the last month, thank you for staying until the end and if this isn't the first monthly favourites blog post of mine you've read, thank you for coming back to read them. What have you loved throughout December? Leave me a comment down below for me to read.

India X

bottom of page