top of page

Decluttering - Beauty Products


Now Christmas is over, I have a lot o extra things and left over Christmas clutter that I have to sort out and find new laces for, which I don't mind doing but it's gotten to the stage where I just have so much stuff and cluttering up my cupboards and surfaces. I love having things on the display, but with only so much shelf and surface space, I have to decide what I want to have on show and what I have to hide away. But the inside of my cupboards and drawers are no better; I have so many clothes, shoes, jewellery and makeup that every bit of storage space is full up. My point is I want to stop being a hoarder and get rid of some of the pointless and unnecessary items that I'm keeping hold of because I 'might need it one day' or old makeup that still has a little left. Today I'm just going to focus on the makeup and beauty products that I'm hoarding, since I do have a lot of products and there's no point keeping hold of nearly finished face washes and old clumpy mascaras.

Starting in my makeup drawer, I can see a bunch of things that are super old and gross or that I've barely or never used, and there's no point keeping old, unloved makeup. The first things I reach for that I know I have never even touched are three pots of lip balm, including a tinted Zoella Kissy Missy Lip Balm that I hate because it reminds me of kids. Along with 2 pots of PS. Mojito and Pina Colada lip balms that I have also never used, they are all getting chucked in the bin. Sticking to lips, I now have over 40 lip products and I'm just running out of space to display them all; chucking them is hard but I know it has to be done, and there's a green glow in the dark lipstick that I've had for a few years that I've tried a couple of times, but it doesn't really work and I doubt I'll ever wear it out. I also have a stump of Natural Collection Lipstick that I've been clinging to for a while but since I haven't worn it much lately, it's going in the bin too.

I found an old and very dirty eyeshadow palette in my makeup drawer that I clearly haven't used in many, many years so that is going straight into the bin, and I also threw out a pair of crappy false lashes that are a bit grotty and caked in mascara (yuck). I have a lot of cosmetic sponges and beauty blenders and I only ever use the same few, so I heartlessly threw out a bunch of small makeup sponges and an old beauty blender. Next I checked my pot of makeup brushes and selected only one old brush that I don't use (to be fair a lot of my brushes are quite new or I use them everyday). I own 5 pairs of tweezers, which I think is definitely enough for one person and I reluctantly discarded of my oldest pair of tweezers with a scratched up Geisha girl on the end. Lastly I look through my pot of eyeliners and mascaras and select a few to chuck swell, including a Collection Volumising Mascara that's nearly empty and 2 very old double ended Barry M eyeliners that I got in a magazine years ago.

Moving on from makeup to perfume; I'm not gonna throw any away because none are empty and I like the scent of them all, so instead I just want to move some into my cupboard so that they're not cluttering up as much of my dressing table. Since I like to use perfumes based on the seasons, I moved some of the more autumn and festive fragrances and lotions to make room for some fresh scents. I tucked away my Zoella Hungry Hands handcream, The Body Shop Spiced Apple Shimmer Spray, and then chucked an old, dirty Primark perfume that was very nearly empty. In the cupboard where I moved my fragrances to, I go through to find anything else that I no longer need, and I find an I love... Lemon Drizzle shower gel that I don't really like the smell of, a mini Colgate toothpaste that's basically empty and an old mirror that I no longer use. In my pot of nail varnishes I also find 3 that I can part ways with, including an Barry M Indigo nail polish that is very old, and 2 Nspa polishes that I was gifted a couple of years ago and i'm not really a fan of the colours.

So after this decluttering and organising of all my beauty bits and bobs, I managed to throw away about 20 items which I think is pretty good and it's definitely made some extra space on my dressing table and in my drawer and cupboard. Now that I've sorted through my makeup and beauty products, I'm thinking of blogging about how I'll declutter the rest of my room, like my wardrobe, electronics and ornaments. Leave me a comment below if you'll be interested in another decluttering post soon. Thank you for sticking around until the end.

India X

bottom of page