top of page

Scrapbooking


I've been a lover of scrapbooks for about 6 years now and I'm constantly gathering and collecting things to stick in various scrapbooks or notebooks. I love filling books up with memorabilia, photos, ticket stubs, food wrappers, anything at all that will fit really. I wanted to share my love of scrapbooking today on my blog, along with a few of my tips, my favourite scrapbook pages and some ides for what you could stick into a scrapbook.

I love gathering bits and pieces and sticking them down on a page, making everything look pretty or just sticking anything where there's a space. I literally keep everything in case I want to stick it in, food wrappers, cinema tickets, receipts, tags from clothing, packaging, tissue paper, doodles, magazine clippings, wrapping paper, stickers, literally anything that brings back memories or that I think looks pretty. I collect as much as I can, then I sit down and try to either find a place for it in one of my books, start a new page with it or save it to stick in another time; sometimes things don't feel right at first so I like to see how it goes with different things.

While you can just buy cheap and plain scrapbooks from most stationary shops, I really love a brand of scrapbook called Smash Book, which are hardback, ring-bound books with 40 pages all with different designs on, each book also includes a double ended pen and glue stick. There are lots of different coloured Smash Book you can buy, all with different pages inside and a different theme for each book, like doodle, cutesy, mod and eco. Not to mention that there are different sizes, and also special ones for wedding and Christmas. They're the perfect type of book to fill with all your scrapbook goodies. Here's a video about Smash Book and what you can do with one.

Here is one of my favourite pages from my Smash Books, it's the one I made for my 21st birthday, including pieces of wrapping paper that my gifts were wrapped in, tags from my presents, birthday cards and pieces of envelopes I've cut out. I also taped in an envelope along the side to store some birthday cards in, which easily closes up into the book when it's closed. I have some journaling in the middle so I can remember exactly what happened that day, and I've stuck in a few things like chocolate wrappers, birthday confetti, the top of the cider I drank; I taped in a clear piece of plastic sheet so I could slip things in behind it, like a list of all the presents I got and a scratch card my mum gave me.

Scrapbooks are great for keeping all your memories in one place or for making your own personalised photo albums; you can keep themed scrapbook too like for a holiday you take, for Christmas, wedding planning or for summer. Personally I like just having one page or a double page dedicated to an event, so I have a double page for my birthday, a page for a concert I went to, a page for when I went to the Harry Potter studios etc. and then in between these pages I like to stick in random crap like food wrappers, a magazine clipping that I like, maybe a doodle that I ripped out a notebook. I like that there are no rules, you can stick anything in and you can stick it anywhere you want with no rhyme or rhythm, some pages I just like to stick in things of the same colour, because why not, It's up to you what you want it to look like.

You don;t have to be creative or artistic to start a scrapbook, all you need is a book, a glue tick and things to stick down, so don't feel intimidated or scared to start one, they're really great fun and there's no wrong or right. I have a Pinterest board filled with journal and scrapbook ideas, so click here if you want to have a look to get you started or for some ideas.

What you can put in a scrapbook:

Photographs

Postcards, cards or letters

Ticket stubs or receipts

Food wrappers, packaging or tags

Business cards or leaflets

Magazine clippings or printed images

Doodles or drawings

Stickers and Washi tape

Pretty coloured or patterned paper

The many different types of scrapbooking, creative pretty pages and keeping memories is exactly why I love making and keeping them. I hope you've all enjoyed this post, leave me a comment below of you've ever kept a scrapbook. See you guys soon!

India X

bottom of page