top of page

New Avril Lavigne Album Review - Head Above Water


After 6 years, my queen Avril Lavigne has released her long awaited album called Head Above Water and I am beyond excited because I finally have 12 new beautiful songs to listen to. I am (evidently) a huge fan of the pop punk princess Avril Lavigne and I'm thrilled that she's release new music after such a long silence. Upon the first listen to some of the tracks, I was unsure about them and only a few of them really stood out to me, but after listening a few more times, I've listened with more depth and they're all grown on me. While this album was definitely more mellow than what I had hoped for, I am not disappointing; i think there were a few too many slow and acoustic tracks but at least there was some more upbeat, pop punk tracks to bop along to.

Head Above Water - Released a few months ago, Head Above Water is the lead single and title track, and in my opinion the best track on the album. Avril sings about her battle with Lyme disease and how she thought she was going to die and it felt like she was drowning, and so she sings 'God keep my head above water'. This is a very beautiful, personal and emotional song and it sets the tone for the whole album. if you haven't already, you have to give this gorgeous song a listen.

Birdie - This track reminds me most of Avril's early music, it wouldn't feel out of place on Let Go with her classic piano intro, bursting into a powerful chorus. This is one of my favourite tracks on the album, it feels familiar but still new, with emotional energy in her voice as she sings about breaking free from a bad relationship. If you're a lover of Avril's earlier music then you'll be a fan of this liberating track.

I Fell In Love With The Devil - Another vintage tune about a toxic and unhealthy relationship in which she refers to her partner as 'the devil'. I love how this song sounds with it's low piano, intricate guitar and softer vocals and lyrics like 'shotguns and roses make a deadly potion'. I'd describe this song as haunting and it is nothing like anything I've heard by Avril before and I am absolutely loving it.

Tell Me It's Over - This was the second single from the album which was released just before Christmas, so I've had longer to listen to it, and I do really like this one. Another powerful chorus, classic instrumental and iconic vocals, it's vintage Avril with a beautiful new twist. It's less pop punk and more soul, proving that Avril can achieve different styles of music amazingly.

Dumb Blonde (feat. Nicki Minaj) - Before I listened to this song I wasn't too sure that I was going to like it, as I'm not really a fan of Nicki Minaj and I had no idea what to expect. However, this is the most upbeat and energetic song on the whole album and I absolutely love it. If you're a fan of Avril's songs like Girlfriend and Rock N Roll then you'll definitely like this catchy tune, with a strong beat and a verse by Nicki Minaj.

It Was In Me - This slower track is about growing and maturing as a person and Avril realises that it was in her all along. It's a powerful song with booming drums and ethereal background vocals with powerful vocals over the top singing 'Now let me feel high when I'm sober, Let me feel young when I'm older, Let me feel proud when it's over'. This is another track that could easily fit into 'Let Go' or 'Under My Skin' because of the soft piano and pounding drums that we commonly hear in her early music.

Souvenir - Avril now sings about a different, newer lover from the one she sings about in Birdie and In Love With The Devil, but this time she's happy. It's feels like a very summery bop, it's a catchy acoustic love song that wouldn't feel out of place on a rom-com movie soundtrack. It's the type of track you'd blast out while on a summer road trip with the windows rolled down with it's light-hearted instruments. This track reminds me of songs on Avril's self titled album, which also featured a few summer bops, it surely wouldn't feel out of place on there.

Crush - Following on from the previous track, we hear about how previous heartbreak may leave you feeling sceptical about future relationships. We hear more strong vocals and pulsing music as she sings lyrics like 'baby, don;t crush me'. It's not a bad track, nothing really stands out to me when listening to it, but it's enjoyable and sort of jazzy and contains both old and new elements of her music.

Goddess - Here Avril rhymes the word 'pajamas' with 'bananas' and I think she managed to pull it off. I'm not the biggest fan of this song, but by no means is it a bad track, I just think that some of the others have more potential than this one. A mid-tempo, guitar-driven track about a guy loving her no matter what and even thinking she's sexy in her pajamas. You definitely need to give this one a listen.

Bigger Wow - After a few slow, acoustic songs we hit another catchy, upbeat bop about making the most of every moment and sort of living to the extreme. Starting with a finger snapping beat, quickly followed by guitar and a violin, before is smashes its way into the chorus. It's a fun, lighthearted track that I feel was definitely needed after the few previous slower tunes.

Love Me Insane - I feel a little nostalgic when listening to this track with the classic Avril 'yeah eeh yeah', but I don't love it, to me it feels sort of like a filler song because it offers less than the other tracks. It has a vintage Avril sound, which obviously I do enjoy with her classic vocals, so out of all 12 tracks, this one is the one I'd knock off if I had to. Have a listen for yourself and tell me your opinions.

Warrior - It's now reached the end of the album and it's definitely been a musical journey with ups and downs. She begins the album pleading with God to save her and now in this powerful ballad she sings about how she's a 'soldier' and a 'warrior' whose fought for her life. Avril has now found her inner strength after a long battle with Lyme disease and she is stronger and more resilient than ever.

Have you listened the any of the album yet? Leave me your thoughts and opinions in the comments below, I'd love to hear them. I hope you enjoyed this type of blog post, I really enjoyed writing it and I you come back soon for more blog posts.

India X

bottom of page