top of page

Simple Creatures EP Review


If you're a fan of either pop-punk band All Time Low or blink-182 then by now I'm sure that lead singers from both bands, Alex Gaskarth and Mark Hoppus have recently formed a new trash-pop duo called Simple Creatures. Not only have they joined together to create an emo kids dream come true, they've also released an EP of six songs that I didn't know I needed until I heard them.

Drug - You can imagine how fast I clicked the link to this song when I first saw that it had been released, not knowing what to expect at all and anxious to know whether Simple Creatures was going to my new favourite duo or if I was about to hear something disappointing. I can honestly say without a doubt that 'Drug' is the perfect musical love child of two amazing pop punk musicians, with the combination of pounding drums, electric guitar and a few 'na na na's thrown in, it's the perfect edgy opening track to the new EP. For me, 'Drug' is the best track from the EP, and it's absolutely iconic.

Strange Love - The title track 'Strange Love' is another amazing tune, a little more pop then trash but still a banger. It's a bit of a new sound for both Alex and Mark, it's quite a lot different from any previous blink or ATL songs I've heard, but I don't hate it. It's a sort of summery, upbeat, feel good jam that always puts you in a good mood, starting with some moody vocals from Mark but shifting into some classic powerful Gaskarth vocals for the chorus.

How To Live - Now for a mellow, ballad-like tune, 'How To Live' is the slowest of the tracks from the EP and out of all of them my least favourite, but that doesn't necessarily mean it's a bad track, just the one I connect with the least. It's more serious and darker than the previous tracks, dealing with dark themes of demons over pulsating synth drums and a slow tempo while Alex takes the spotlight vocals for a strong performance.

Adrenaline - At first I wasn't sure about this track, but after a couple more listens I was bopping along like a bunny on a sugar rush. It's another feel good track that one would blast in a car with the windows rolled down on a summer drive. While still being a synth-pop tune, 'Adrenaline' still contains some pop-punk elements like guitar hooks and a catchy as hell chorus. This track is full of energy and pop-punk lyrics like //But I can feel you all the way from my coffin in LA, when I'm six feet under my misery// and I absolutely love it.

Ether - Another slower, broody track, 'Ether' is a very ambient song with an electronic but powerful beat and echoing vocals, it's a trash-pop tune if there ever was one. There's an electronic instrumental breakdown after the chorus and this time Mark takes charge of the vocals, booming into the chorus with //You can gasp for air or take the ether//. Definitely a favourite of mine, it fits in so well with the other five tracks and I find that I often have the chorus stuck in my head.

Lucy - To finish of the so far tremendous EP is a track called 'Lucy' which is let loose and totally pop-punk tune that wouldn't sound out of place on an All Time Low record because of it's familiar guitar riffs and steady drum beat. It's fast paced and fierce with more synth-pop instrumentals and cluttering drums as the duo sing about a bank heist gone wrong. I think 'Lucy' is the perfect ending to the six song journey I just went through, ending on a high note that leaves you craving more Simple Creatures songs.

If you're a fan of All Time Low or blink-182 and haven't already checked out the Simple Creatures EP, then what the hell are you still doing here? Get yourself over to Youtube right now and give all the tracks a listen, let me know your opinions in the comments below, which song is your favourite?

India X

bottom of page