top of page

My Strange Coloured Lipsticks


I love an odd coloured lipstick, be it blue, teal, green, black, turquoise or lilac, and over the last couple of years I've built up a small but bold collection of 'strange and unusual' lipstick colours. Ordinary people probably only wear metallic blue or black lippy on Halloween, but I love wearing them all year round.

The first crazy lip colour I remember buying was the MAC Frost Lipstick in Designer Blue which I bought nearly 3 years ago while I was shopping in Brighton; it's a gorgeous glittery blue lipstick and I was absolutely in love with it. Because this lipstick was a little transparent when worn on its own, I started looking for a lippy that I could wear underneath the MAC lipstick, which led to me buying the MUA Luxe Velvet Lip Lacquer in Splash, one of my favourite matte liquid lipsticks in an electric blue. The formula for the lip lacquer is smooth, quick drying and very matte, and looks incredible with the MAC Frost lipstick layered over the top of it.

Since my discovery of this crazy blue lip combo, I started collecting more and more unique lip colours, starting with another MUA Luxe Velvet Lip Lacquer in the colour Unity, a very pastel lilac shade that honestly does look a little strange when you wear it, but I wanted to add it to my little collection. Another pastel purple lipstick I have is a Topshop Lipstick in Sweet Orchid, which is a similar colour to the lip lacquer, but I don't really wear these purple shades often as they don't really look that good on me, but they come in handy for some crazy makeup looks. However the lipstick itself is a nice smooth, matte lippy that I'm sure would look good on other people.

Being a more alternative person, I thought I ought to have a black lipstick in my collection, as up to that point I had never owned a black lipstick before. I have an MUA Lipstick in Raven, which is simply a black lipstick, however it's not the best and does rub off easily, but if you lined your lips first and dab on some black eyeshadow after, you get a quite nice matte black lip to embrace your inner goth. The first of my green/teal lipsticks was the Essence Matt Matt Matt Vibrant Shock Lipstick in No To Mainstream, a pretty edgy matte greeny teal lipstick that does make your mouth look a little diseased, but I can make it work.

The Collection Glam Crystals Holgraphic Lip Topper is a lip gloss that you can stick over the top of any other lip product to add sparkle and glamour or can be worn on it own; of course I bought the blue holographic lip topper to go with all my blue and teal lipsticks. One of my favourite quirky lip colours is the I Heart Revolution Metallic Mermaid Lips in Siren, a metallic emerald green/teal liquid lipstick, that smells delicious and looks bloody beautiful, and at only £3 then it's a total bargain if you love your mesmerising lip shades like me.

The last two crazy lipsticks I recently added to my collection was the Nip + Fab Matte Liquid Lipstick in Cool Mint, a beautiful matte dark green liquid lipstick that looks amazing on, but does stain your lips afterwards, and the NYX Glitter Goals Liquid Lipstick in Oil Spill, which is an absolutely stunning black matte lipstick with shifting purple glitter that makes your lips look like a galaxy. Paired with the Holographic Lip Topper, the Glitter Goals lippy just looks so celestial and I can see this combination being my grungy glam summer lipstick look. I highly recommend both of these unique lip products, especially if you want something daring and dramatic.

I hope to keep growing my small collection of crazy lipstick, so I would love if you could recommend any products or brands for me to try out, just leave them in the comments. I hope you liked this post, come back soon for more quirky content.

India X

bottom of page