top of page

Gothic Summer Makeup Look


I recently bought the NYX Glitter Goals Oil Spill Liquid Lipstick and I fell in love with it, and I was inspied to create a unique and alternative look with this stunning lipstick that you wouldn't typically see on your average beauty blog. I know this look isn't everybody's cup of tea, but recently I've been trying to branch out with my blog topics and try and cater more to an edgy, alternative audience a I've found that there aren't too many punk, grungy bloggers out there that post content like this. But if you are someone that is interested, keep on reading to see how I created this Gothic summer makeup look.

I started off with the usual, Maybelline Fit Me Matte & Poreless Foundation in 105 on a damp beauty sponge and blend that all over; this is more of a medium coverage foundation so I applied a little more for better coverage. Then I concealed only my under eyes with my favourite concealer, the Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer, to help hide any dark under eye circles, and to finish off the base I used my powder blush to apply some Revolution Pro Finishing Pressed Powder to set the whole face. Brows are always next in my makeup routine and I'm currently using the Revolution Duo Brow Pencil, first using the brush to groom my eyebrows and then the precision tip to fill in and shape my eyebrows so they look neat and defined.

I only actually used two colours (and a lot of blending) from the old Halloween palette, Revolution Give Them Darkness Eyeshadow Palette, to create this Vampiric eye look. I started off with a fluffy blending brush, using the shade Shadow, a matte black, I blended it into my crease and then outwards into a cat eye shape. When the black is all blended out, I took a flat eyeshadow brush and applied the shade Fear, a matte white, all over my lid up until the crease, creating a cut crease eye look; pack on the white eyeshadow until it is opaque, then go back in with the black to clean up the crease and darken up the black for a more intense and sharp cat eye.Then I just used the matte black on a thin eyeshadow brush and blended it lightly onto my lower lash line to complete this smokey eye look.

I went for a simple winged eyeliner with the Collection Extreme Felt Tip Liner by following the line I had created with the eyeshadow, keeping it quite thin and sharp. Because I hate putting on mascara as my lashes just never cooperate, I went for the easier option. I curled my eyelashes and put on some Girls With Attitude False Lashes, and finished off the eyes with a coat of Eyeko Lash Alert Mascara on the top and bottom lashes.

I now move onto contour and highlight; I used the contour shade from the Seventeen Define & Conquer Contour Kit to contour my cheeks and a little around my forehead and jaw, and for this look I also did a little nose contour for an even more Gothic appearance. For highlight I used the beautiful Revolution Ghost Lights Highlighter, a stunning shifting pink highlighter, which I applied using a fa brush to my cheek bones, brow bones, top of the nose and a little to the inner corners of my eyes. To set the face I used the Revolution Pro Fix Fixing Spray, spritzing three or four sprays over my face to help keep the look in place all day.

And now onto the thing that inspired this entire look, the gorgeous NYX Glitter Goals Liquid Lipstick in Oil Spill; a stunning matte black liquid lipstick with blue and purple glitter that makes your lips look like a beautiful galaxy. I apply two layers of this before leaving it to dry for a minute before adding the finishing touch, the Collection Glam Crystals Holographic Lip Topper in SHHH!, a blue holographic lip gloss, to really make the lips stand out. And voila! The beautiful, unique, Gothic makeup look is complete.

There you have it, a stunningly beautiful Gothic inspired makeup look created around one of the most gorgeous lip products I've ever seen. I really hope you enjoyed this post, if you did then please leave a comment below and share this post on your social media. I hope to see you back here really soon.

India X

bottom of page