top of page

My Favourite Shows To Watch This Autumn


Today's Blogtober post is all about what shows I have been watching this autumn, from Netflix comedies to Channel 4 reality TV. Lately I've been watching lots more TV than I usually do, but this autumn has seen the release of lots of great series so you can't really blame me, blame Netflix mostly. Carry on reading to see which seven shows I've been really into this autumn.

ON NETFLIX

13 Reasons Why - An incredible, drama filled teen show with some amazing actors, pressing story lines and important themes that I'm glad a show like this is exploring. I'm sure by now you've seen or heard about 13 Reasons Why and the topics that the show covers, and while some think it's graphic, dark and controversial, I think it's time that rape, suicide, harassment and bullying were shown a little more openly, rather than trying to hide that fact that these things happen on a daily basis. Season 3 of the show, which is now on Netflix, shows us some new characters and new themes, stepping away from Hannah's original story and focusing on the murder of her rapist Bryce Walker, and becoming more of a different show that what it had started as. However, it is still such a great show and always worth watching.

Big Mouth - The third season of the adult animated comedy, Big Mouth, is now on Netflix and it's crazier and more sexual than before. If you don't know, the show follows a group of 7th graders as they go through puberty, and their hormone monsters teach them all about sex, periods, puberty and masturbation. Each episode covers a different middle school topic, like academic pressure, friendship dynamics, and mental health, along with a catchy little tune and many celebrity guest stars, such as Wanda Sykes, Thandie Newton and all the lads from Queer Eye. It only took me two days to finish this season and I already can't wait for the next one.

The Good Place - I was so hooked on the last season of The Good Place that I have been dying all year for season 4, and now it's finally here but only one episode goes up each week on Netflix, which is killer for a show that likes to end each episode on a cliffhanger moment. This is the last series of The Good Place which is sad but I'm excited to see how they wrap the show up and what the outcome will be for each of the characters, especially Eleanor and Chidi. It's always full of light-hearted comedy, heartwarming moments and lots of moral philosophy and ethics, which is a central theme that the show revolves around.

Orange Is The New Back - The seventh and final season of Orange Is The New Black was something I put off watching for a while but I did get around to watching it earlier this month and wow, it was a good season. While I do forget some of what happened in the previous season, I managed to jump into the story quickly, remembering the ins and outs of the prisoners and the guards. The whole season was full of laughter, tears, emotions, old faces, new feelings and lots of new drama, maybe that's why I watched all 13 episodes in only a few days. Piper, Red, Nicky and Lorna have always been my favourite characters, they've been there since the beginning and they've (mostly) been great and understanding friends, parent figures and a family to each other and all the other girls in the prison. I'm sad that it's over now but I like how they ended the show on a happy note, bringing back lots of old characters to say their farewells.

ON TV

The Great British Bake Off - Like most people in Britain, I watch Bake Off every year and it never fails to amaze me what these incredible bakers can produce. I get so emotionally attached to particular bakers and I'm always devastated when my favorite person leaves the tent; my favourites this year are Henry, who I hope makes it to the final, and Helena who unfortunately went out on week 5, but her bakes were out of this world. We're over half way through the season now and it's a close competition in my opinion, so I'm looking forward to seeing all the incredible and creative treats that the bakers will be cooking up before the final. Let me know in the comments who you want to win.

The Circle - The Circle is a Channel 4 reality show where a group of people live in an apartment building, but players can only see each other through a social media account, where they can portray themselves however the want, playing for popularity and the chance to win a big cash prize. At first I didn't like the idea of the show and left the room when my sister turned it on, but the more glimpses of the show I saw, the more interested I got in the players and their tactics to being the most popular player in The Circle; we're now two weeks into the show I am obsessed. Tim and Woody are my favourite players right now and I hope they manage to make it to the end as they're the most real and funny ones in there. If you're a fan of shows like Big Brother or I'm a celebrity, then you'll for sure enjoy this reality show.

Taskmaster - A Dave comedy series where 5 comedians complete ridiculous and pointless tasks for the Taskmaster, Greg Davies. Season 9 stars Joe Brand, Rose Matafeo, David Baddiel, Katie Wix and Ed Gamble, along with 10 episodes of new tasks, each more ridiculous than the last, like say a letter of the alphabet and put only things beginning with that letter on a tray or guess which wheelie bin Alex Horn is hiding it by hitting it with a frying pan. I've watched all 9 seasons of Taskmaster and they always get more hilarious and more absurd; watching comedians trying to complete these tasks isn't always as simple as you'd think, they come up with some bizarre techniques and ideas to get their tasks done and it's bloody hilarious.

There are the seven shows I have been addicted to this autumn, have you watched any of them? Are there any on this list you've been meaning to watch? Let me know in the comments below. Make sure you come back again tomorrow for another festive Blogtober post, remember to follow my blog Insta @Indierosepsycho to stay updated.

India X

bottom of page