top of page

My Pennywise Inspired Halloween Makeup


In a couple of recent blog posts, I mentioned how I am currently really into the Stephen King story IT and the new movies; I've now watched them multiple times, I've watched nearly every Easter egg and history of characters and background info videos I can find on Youtube and I'm three chapters into the book. Because of the recent release of Chapter 2 and my new obsession with the story, there was no better time to create a Pennywise Halloween makeup look. Carry on reading to know the six steps I took to look like this creepy sewer clown from Derry.

Step 1

I started of this creepy Halloween makeup by smoothing some J.one Jelly Pack Gel Primer all over my face to make sure everything stick and to smooth out my pores. My foundation of choice for this look was Collection Lasting Perfection Ultimate Wear Foundation in the shade Warm Ivory; if anyone was going to recreate this look then a white face paint could be used instead of foundation, but I stuck with a dewy foundation. Concealer is next and I used my Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in shade Fair to cover up any blemishes and under my eyes, before grabbing the Collection Primed & Ready Invisible Setting Powder and a big brush to powder the whole of my face to set the base before carrying on with the rest of the look.

Step 2

Next step I use the Revolution Duo Brow Pencil in Dark brown, first using the brush end to comb my brows into place, and then using the pencil end to fill in my brows; I saw on Pinterest that most people that created a Pennywise look just had normal looking brows so I just stuck with my usual eyebrow routine for this.

Step 3

For the eyeshadow, I used my I Heart Revolution Dragons Heart Palette, starting with the pinky red colour in the crease using a fluffy eyeshadow blending brush and blending it all the way out to my brow bone and right out underneath my eye. I then took an eyeshadow packing brush and dipped it into the black shadow and tapped it onto my lid all the way up to the crease where the red shadow is, and took it underneath my eye onto the lash line. I then blended the black out a bit into the red so the line wasn't so harsh, and I blended out the red so there was no harsh lines, and I did this with a clean blending brush. I added more shadow and carried on blending until I was happy with how it looked, no bothering too much about keeping it super neat, this is a Halloween look after all.

Step 4

After the eyeshadow is done, I took a new product I purchased which is the QIC Kill Black Double Eyeliner Star Stamp, which is a regular felt liner on one end and star stamp on the other, which I thought would work so well with this clown look. I used the normal liquid liner to line my upper lids and drew a long, thin wing coming from the corner of my outer eye, keeping the whole thing quite thin; I then flipped the eyeliner over to the end with the stamp and stamped two on each eye, one above the eyeliner and one just below on the top of my cheek (you can see where I stamped on the photo), I did want to stamp some more but I didn't want to get star stamp crazy, considering that the Pennywise I'm basing this look off of doesn't have any stars on his face. Next I just curled my lashes and used the Maybelline Colossal Go Extreme! Leather Black Mascara to give my eyelashes some lift and length, applying it on my top and bottom lashes.

Step 5

Now my eye makeup is complete, I move onto some contour to give the look a bit of depth, rather than looking like just a flat, pale face; I used my mini Benefit Hoola Lite Bronzer and a contour brush to hollow out my cheekbones, around my nose, along the edge of my forehead and on my chin to create some natural looking shadow. I wanted a red highlighter to go with the obvious red theme that the look has, so I took my Revolution Rainbow Highlighter and dipped my finger into the pinky red shade at the top, dabbing it onto my cheeks and bridge of my nose, then taking a small eyeshadow brush and patting some highlighter to the inner corners of my eyes to open them up and add a little sparkle.

Step 6

Now for the classic Pennywise smile. I started creating the red lines on the cheeks by taking a red lip liner and lightly drawing from under my eye down towards my cheeks and slowly curving the line to meet up with the corners of my mouth, using a picture of Pennywise as a reference the whole time. I also drew little lines above the centre of my eyebrow and one underneath my eyebrow, so it appears that the lines from my cheeks are going through my eyes and coming out the top. When I was happy with the red lines, I took my MUA Luxe Velvet Lip Lacquer in the colour Reckless, a vibrant red, and I took a thin lip brush, dipped it into the liquid lipstick and painted it on over the lip liner. This makes the lines more vibrant and less likely to rub off, and you can now control the thickness and neatness of the red lines; I didn't take much care when painting them on as I wanted them to look rough and messy, ya know because I'm supposed to be a clown living in the sewer, I doubt his makeup is perfect. Once again with the lip liner, I drew around the end of my nose just how Pennywise had his and filled it in with the same liquid lipstick. To finish the whole look off I lined my lips with the red lip liner and used both the Luxe Velvet Lip Lacquer in Reckless and in Firecracker, a darker red; using both the lipsticks, I created a little ombre on my lips, darker on the outside and lighter in the centre, dabbing on the colour until I was happy with the ombre effect.

If you're planning on wearing this look out this Halloween then you can add some extra details to make the makeup even more realistic; yellow contact lenses or fake teeth would add some extra creepiness to the whole thing and some fake blood always makes a Halloween look more realistic. I brushed my hair with a backcomb brush and sprayed some hairspray for the messy hair, but some orange hair dye or a wig would definitely make the look more like Bill Skarsgårds portrayal of Pennywise.

There ya go, my Pennywise inspired Halloween Makeup look and my ninth Blogtober post of the month. Let me know what you think of it in the comments below and let me know what you'd change or add to the look. I really hope you all liked this blog post, come back again tomorrow for another autumnal beauty blog post.

India X

bottom of page