top of page

My Graduation Day!


If you're new to my blog then you might not know that for the last three years I was at uni doing a photography degree, and last Friday I graduated Greater Brighton Metropolitan College with a 2:1 in Photography. I'm so pleased with this grade and really didn't think I'd be able to achieve this much but I managed it after three very stressful and exciting years filled with workbooks, essays, printing, pitching and some headaches.

(Having my gown put on for me)

The work we'd been set over out final year was more difficult, more enjoyable and more rewarding then the other two years. My dissertation raked in a C grade with 56 marks, which could have gone better but I'm still pleased. I wrote about How the British Punk movement was informed by the British Establishment in the 1970s, mentioning key aspects of the punk movement and 70s youth culture, like the Sex Pistols mock of the Queens silver jubilee, Margaret Thatchers political changes to the country and the iconic punk fashion created by Vivienne Westwood and Malcolm McLaren. I shared an extract of my dissertation on day 3 of Blogtober, click here if you want to check it out!

My Final Major Project (the big end of the years project that I spent months on) was graded an A with 70 marks and I am so so happy with this as I worked so hard on my FMP. I created my own fanzine including fashion, music, art, photography, written pieces, interviews and a completely hand designed front cover, back cover and pull-out poster. I'm so glad I worked so hard on it as it majorly boosted my overall grade and I had so much fun creating it and seeing the final product come together.

(Me and my boyfriend, Jack, before the graduation started)

The graduation day itself was a nice day, getting to see all my uni buddies again and celebrating all of our achievements together and reminiscing on the last three years of our lives. I'm already feeling quite sad that I can't spend as much time with them now, having laughs about our course and getting to do group projects together. I got to wear the classic graduation cap and gown, although it was uncomfortable and hot and kept slipping off my shoulders, but wearing it is all part of the experience, you usually only get to do it once. Having to walk onto a stage in heels to collect my certificate was a little daunting, having a whole hall of people looking at me and hoping I'm not gonna be that one person that trips over (thankfully no one did).

(Me and some of my uni buddies sitting front row, I'm sure they don't mind me using this photo)

So now I'm a Photography graduate. I don't think I even want to be a photographer anymore, but there still so many amazing jobs I can get with this creative degree. I'm thinking of heading towards magazines work, publishing or social media marketing, which are all areas I got to explore and learn about during my time on the course, especially when I was producing my own little fanzine. I'm so glad I decided to go to university and got the experience of moving away from home, being independent and meeting lots of new people and going new places.

(Wearing my uncomfortable cap and gown)

Have any of you guys graduated or studied something within the creative industry? Leave me some comment below so I can give them a read. I'm sorry this may not have been the most exciting blog post, but I wanted to share this with you and document this time. Come back tomorrow for more Blogtober content.

India X

bottom of page