top of page

5 Ways To Wear Dark Lipstick This Autumn


Welcome back to another Blogtober post. I had a couple days off because I was quite behind in all the blog writing and prep so I took a few days to catch up with blog stuff, and now I'm back for the rest of the month. About this post, I love wearing dark lipstick all year round, ya know cause I'm edgy, but some people stick to berry shades and dark colours for when it's colder outside. I am here to talk you through 5 different ways that I'll be wearing dark lip shades this autumn, using some of my favourite dark lipsticks. Continue reading for lipstick tips and inspo. 

Nip + Fab Matte Liquid Lipstick in Cool Mint 

First up is this gorgeous velvety green liquid lipstick by Nip + Fab, which a total statement lipstick. I would usually pair a bold lipstick like this with a fairly subtle and neutral eye look; a subtle shimmer, a light grey or a sweep of nude over the lid just for a little colour but nothing too distracting. Today I chose to go with a shimmery grey eyeshadow all over my lid and slightly into the crease and a classic winged liner, keeping the green lip the main feature of the look. I went for bronzed up cheeks with the Nude By Nature loose bronzer and a golden highlighter to warm up the face as the grey and green are rather cool shades. This is a great lipstick to wear if you're just starting out with crazy lipstick colours, but also a staple shade to have if you often opt for bold hues on the lips, but remember to keep the rest of your face simple and neutral. 

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Copenhagen

The soft matte lip cream by NYX is one of all time favourite lip formulas and this gorgeous red berry shade, Copenhagen, is one of my favourite lip shades too. Berry shades can be very versatile and are perfect for this time of year, but for this lippy I went for a matching dark red/maroon matte eyeshadow on my lid with a little dark brown in the crease from the I Heart Revolution Dragons Heart palette. I kept the colours in this look very autumnal, with a dab of blush and bronzer for a sunkissed glow on the cheeks and a little peachy highlighter. Be careful when wearing red eyeshadow though, using too much can make you look unwell or tired; a tip to avoid looking dead is to add a splash of colour to your checks too so you don't end up looking like a zombie. 

MUA Luxe Velvet Lip Lacquer in Kooky 

With a dark, quirky lipstick like this purple luxe velvet lip lacquer by MUA, it's sometimes a good idea to just play it simple and ditch the eyeshadow altogether or just wear minimal colour in the eyes. Focus on some funky eyeliner or a stunning highlighter instead; I chose to dab some of the Makeup Revolution Liquid Highlighter in Lovers Wrath, from last years Halloween collection, onto my cheeks and tip of my nose. It's a beautiful pinky purple highlighter, so it perfectly went with the purple liquid lipstick and the subtly barely there purple eyeshadow I swept onto my lids. You could even use the highlighter on the centre of your lips for a little sparkle so that the vampy lips stand out even more. 

NYX Glitter Goals Liquid Lipstick in Oil Spill 

Usually if I go for a bold lip, I'll pair it with a subtle eye colour, but sometimes you just have to go all out. For this beautiful black liquid lipstick with blue and purple glitter, I opted for even more black to make this a super gothic look. Pile on the black shadow onto the lids and blend out, giving yourself a big dramatic smokey eye; I used the MUA Elysium Shadows Palette, which is filled with blacks and greys, perfect for creating big smokey eyes. You could add a touch of white eyeshadow or highlighter to the inner corners of your eyes to open them up, but I'd definitely stick on some false lashes for this to open up your eyes.  If you've got such a beautiful bold lipstick like this one, then sometimes you have to accompany it with an equally bold eyeshadow, because why not. 

Collection Lasting Colour In Aubergine Kiss

Lastly I have chosen to take this Collection Lasting Colour Aubergine Kiss lipstick and not care about what eyeshadow I use with it, because in all honesty, makeup is supposed to be fun and creative and experimental, so do whatever feels right for you. Keep it simple or use all the colours of the rainbow, no one is judging you. For me I went for a booming bright blue all over my lids, with the classic black winged eyeliner and mascara, but you could take it to the next level and use a brightly coloured eyeliner too. Express yourself with your makeup, use colours that clash or use colours that compliment each other, have fun with creating your makeup looks. Always spray your makeup with a setting spray to keep it in place, I'm currently using the I Heart Revolution Peaches & Cream Fixing Spray, which smells just like peaches of course. 

Well there are the five different ways to wear dark lip shades this autumn, from the classic autumnal berry lip to unusual greens and glittery blacks. What are your favourite dark lip shades and how would you wear them this autumn? Let me know in the comments so that I can try them out too. I will 100% be back tomorrow with a post as it's my 22nd birthday and I'll be sharing some birthday thoughts with you all. Hope you're all having a fab October. 

India X 

bottom of page