top of page

Summer Haul 2018


Since summer has started, I've gathered quite a few things which I have either purchased myself or have been gifted by other people, and I thought I'd write up a haul blog post of all the things I've bought or been given so far this summer. Continue reading below to find out what exciting purchases I have made and what quirky items I have been gifted with. If you're interested in what items I bought last summer, click here to view my summer haul from last year.

Primark Yellow Tartan Mini Skirt - Tartan is coming back this autumn and I wanted to get a jump start on this awesome fashion trend, so a couple of weeks ago I purchased an adorable yellow and black tartan skirt from Primark (similar). I never wear yellow but I fell in love with this skirt when I first saw it and I thought I should just go for it and be a little more daring with my fashion choices, and to be honest I have loved looking through my wardrobe and finding ways to style this punky mini skirt for autumn. I can see I'm going to get a lot of wear out if this Primark skirt over the next few months and I can't wait for it to hit September so I can wear this fab skirt.

Makeup Revolution Pro Fix Fixing Spray - I love Makeup Revolutions products and when I was in need of a new setting spray, I went straight for the Makeup Revolution counter at Superdrug to check out what setting sprays that had to offer. Like most products that Makeup Revolution sell, this setting spray works a charm and is so affordable and is worth every penny. I've tested it out to see how it would hold up against various weather conditions and it literally keeps my makeup in place amazingly; on super hot and sweaty days it does a remarkable job of keeping my makeup from melting and even on wet and windy days this spray has held my face together. This was a great summer purchase.

Hanging Alice Sign - Whilst I was at a local event called Folk Week, I came across a stall that was selling a bunch of clothes and accessories from Hot Topic in America, but amongst the amazing Doctor Who dresses and Harry Potter purses, I found a bunch of hanging Metal Alice In Wonderland signs. I, of course, purchased one immediately and that one I chose had the quote 'It would be nice if something made sense for a change' surrounding an original John Tenniel drawing of Alice holding a flamingo (which just so happens to be my favourite drawing from the original book).

Next Cactus Bag - My mum bought me this adorable little cross-body cactus bag from the girls section at Next (similar) to give to me on my little sisters birthday and I was so excited when I finally got it a couple of weeks ago. This metallic green bag is so small, with metallic pink flowers dotted about and a long thing strap that is the same light metallic green as the rest of the bag. Although this bag was made for a child and I can't even fit my phone is to my bag it is that small,, I am in love with it and am happy to have a new item to add to my growing collection of cactus products.

Disney Zero Plush Toy - I am a huge fan of Tim Burton and The Nightmare Before Christmas and Halloween in general so when I found this adorable Zero plush toy at a pop-up Disney store in Canterbury, I just had to buy it. Although I am 20 years old and this soft toy was £10 (way more than I usually care to spend on a plush toy) I couldn't leave this Zero toy behind; his little pumpkin nose even lights up! I am not even ashamed to say that this has been the best purchase I have made all summer and I will always treasure this little ghost dog.

Simple Water Boost Micellar Cleansing Water - I am loving this micellar water to remove left over makeup and dirt from my face whilst still being gentle and refreshing and it doesn't leave a sticky feeling left on your skin after use. I love that this product keeps your skin hydrated and doesn't leave it feeling tight, unlike some other cleansing products I've tried,as it's filled with skin-loving minerals and plant extracts. I'd say this has been a very good skin care purchase this summer.

Primark Goodies - Primark really does sell some super cheap but super great things, and I am obsessed with all of their recent Harry Potter items that they have released. My amazing best friend purchased for me from the Primark Harry Potter section this Harry Potter Golden Snitch Birthstone Necklace, I have the Opal one which is for October. and this pack of 5 Harry Potter Badges with the Hogwarts house crests on. Last week I also purchased myself from Primark on sale at only 50p, a wooden hanging sign that says 'Lost in the stars' which I liked because it had doodles of cacti on.

Black & Red Rose Cat Ears - Another item I purchased from Folk Week this year was a pair of cat ears where the ears were made of little black and red roses (similar). I love a funky pair of cat ears and I've have worn these bag boys nearly everyday since I bought them and they can easily be worn with most of my wardrobe because 80% of my clothes are black anyway.

Cactus Mason Jar Glass - My boyfriends sister bought me this amazing cactus mason jar drinking glass and I don't think I've loved a drinking glass more than this one. If you didn't know, I LOVE cacti and I love anything that looks like a cactus or has cacti printed on it, and I am happy to have this incredible green, cactus shaped drinking glass in my collection, which I have yet to actually drink out of as I've had it on display ever since I got it. If you like a good cactus product too, click here to check out my blog post about all of the items that I currently have in my cactus collection.

Llama Weekly To-Do Peg Plaque - This was another item given to me by my mum; a wooden plaque with 7 llama pegs for each day of the week. This is a really useful and quirky item to help keep organised, and the cute llama pegs make this wooden plaque much more interesting and would add a little colour and excitement to a plain wall. I can't wait to put this up in my uni room when I got back and start pegging things to it so I can stay organised.

Collection Primed & Ready Invisible Setting Powder - This Collection Invisible Setting Powder perfectly mattifies my face, especially when I'm having an oily day, and helps set my base for the day ahead. This setting powder also contains witch hazel, which helps clear any spots and blemishes on your face and helps keep new spots from forming, wand I love the fact that this product does that.

Slytherin Makeup Bag - I love a good makeup bag and I love this Slytherin one that I purchased from Primark a couple of months ago; it's the perfect size to fit my everyday makeup in and I love that it's more square shaped than other makeup bags I have. This bag is also great for travelling with as it easily fits into suitcases and can be popped into larger handbags so you can have your makeup on hand if you need any touch ups. I also got this Slytherin makeup bag on sale at only £2, what a bargain!

New Fair Trade Dress - Another item of clothing I bought was a long turquoise dress (similar) from a fair trade company at Folk Week. I bought this dress to replace a purple one that I had bought about 4 years ago that has now become misshapen, and I decided to go for a turquoise and blue dress this time instead of a purpley one that I had before. It's a bummer that the weather has gotten a little colder because this is the perfect light weight and flowy summer dress, so unless we have any more hot days this year I guess i'll have to wait until next summer before i can wear it again.

Essence Matte Matte Matte Vibrant Shock Lipstick in No To Mainstream - I have been looking for a green (and a reasonably priced) lipstick for quite some time now, and recently I found this greeny-teal lipstick from Essence. So this colour is probably a little too out there for some of you, but I looove my blue MAC lipstick so much and green is pretty much the only colour I didn't already have, so I needed this super cool lipstick to add to my lippy collection, and it's such a perfect crazy summer colour.

Thank you everyone for reading my blog, I hope you all enjoyed it. Have you bought any cool things tgis summer?

India X

bottom of page